January 4, 2016

What is your best memory of last year?

The best memory I have from 2015 is the day my mom got married. I think it is my most fond memory from this year because I felt close to my mom again after a long period of feeling really distant from her.

Before the wedding ceremony, I wasn’t really sure how I felt about my mom getting married. Her fiance and I had a falling out and things were pretty awkward between the three of us. But, I knew that me being there meant a lot to my mom and I really wanted to make sure that her day was as wonderful as she had hoped. We spent the day getting our hair and nails done, preparing drinks for the night, and doing other last minute things to make sure that everything was ready for the wedding while everyone else worked on setting up the venue. When we arrived, the venue was done and we waited for the guests to arrive. The ceremony itself lasted about 3 minutes, and the rest of the night was a huge party.

My favorite part of their wedding day was learning the story of the first interaction between my mom and her husband. I had never heard this story before, but after hearing it I understood immediately why my mom had to marry this man. The two of them met online and she had posted on her profile that she was looking for her Gilbert Blythe. For those of you who don’t know, Gilbert Blythe is a character from Anne of Green Gables and the likelihood of someone on a dating website understanding that reference is slim (Not that I know, I’ve never actually used a dating website). But, I guess he private messaged her and made a snarky comment about Gilbert, and I’m sure at that moment she knew he was the one for her.

At the end of the night, after a couple of drinks, I had the pleasure of giving a wedding toast to my mom and her husband. I remember being really nervous, but I think I gave a nice speech that meant a lot to my mom and her husband. It went something like this “I remember being really little, asking my mom what kinds of things she wanted in a guy, and thinking that she was going to have a really hard time finding someone who met all of these requirements. But, tonight I heard the story of how these two met and now I can say that my mom has found someone pretty close to perfect. (And then I addressed her husband), You better keep making my mom happy, and I’m glad to say that my family is growing! Love you both!”

 

Leave a Reply

